Revlon Colorstay Foundation

Hey!

It is finally time for some foundation review.

Before I purchased several shades of Revlon Colorstay Foundation, I have heard of it soooo much. Mostly, everyone liked it and said it has a good coverage, wears a long time and has many shades.

Info about this foundation in Revlon webpage:

  • For Normal/Dry skin: Longwearing coverage with a lightweight formula that won’t cake, fade, or rub off. With Time Release Technology, this oil-free, moisture-balance formula is especially formulated for normal or dry skin to continuously provide hydration. Buildable to full coverage (12 shades)
  • For Oily/Combination skin: Longwearing coverage with Time Release Technology and a lightweight formula that won’t cake, fade, or rub off. Specifically made for combination or oily skin to control oil absorption and shine. Your look stays flawless throughout the day. Buildable to full coverage (20 shades).

As they have formulated this foundation depending on skin type I decided to pick some shades for Dry/Normal skin type and some for Combination/Oily skin.

In the pictures you can see the shades, names and packaging itself, because it does differ a bit (those bottles which are meant for Dry/Normal skin has a transparent plastic around the black cap, but for Combination/Oily – just simply black cap).

Revlon Colorstay Foundation Combination_Oily

Revlon Colorstay Foundation Swatches for Combination_Oily skin

Revlon Colorstay Foundation Normal_Dry

Revlon Colorstay Foundation Swatches for Normal_Dry skin

First about the packaging. These are glass bottles with plastic cap and without pump (which is of course a minus). I think someone said that MAC pumps does suit these ones, but I am not sure about it. Both types are liquid foundation with satin-matte finish. Even for Dry/Normal skin, but for me it didn’t emphasize any dry patches on my face. I would say it has a medium coverage, but you could sheer it up by using MAC Fix+ and a damp sponge, and also, it is definitely buildable to full coverage. So you get three options with it. It covers up any blemish or other skin imperfections you may have. Worth to mention: you need to work with it quickly, because it dries pretty fast.

I have combination skin type, but sometimes it can go to Dry, so I decided to try both. I did found that foundation for Dry/Normal skin is much creamier and more liquid than for Combination/Oily skin. The best result for flawless face was by using damp sponge, otherwise, by using a brush it can leave stripes on the face. With Combination/Oily foundation this was not a problem. I could use a sponge or brush and in both ways my face looked flawless. And seems like this type suit me better, because it lasts on me all day long. I don’t know about 24h, because I don’t want to leave it on my face for such a long time, but I would say – it depends on many things. For some it could last that long, for some not.

I do agree with Revlon description about “Lightweight formula that won’t cake”, because it does feel very light on the skin, although, sometimes it did cake up, but for most of the part – it stayed put and it didn’t budge me.

As I already mentioned above, there are quite a lot of shades for both types, although, most of them has a pink undertone, which is a huge minus, in my opinion, because there are a lot of people with light neutral or light warm undertone. Ivory color has a lot of pink pigments so even if you found a warm color in the darker shade side, you will not be able to mix it with Ivory to get a perfect shade for you, cause it will make it quite pink. I am pretty pale in the winter time, but even on me Ivory tone looked to pink on me. Buff was the best match when I had a little bit of a tan. A little description of all tones I have:

For Combination/Oily Skin:

  • 110 IVORY – lightest color with pink undertone
  • 180 SAND BEIGE – light/medium color. Beige already tells you that it has a pink undertone. Although, I would say there is a hint of warm undertone too, cause when you blend it into the skin, it doesn’t look pink.
  • 320 TRUE BEIGE – medium/dark color. Darker beige color with pink undertone.

For Normal/Dry Skin:

  • 150 BUFF – light neutral color. Perfect for me and you can see that in the swatche too, cause it is almost not possible to see it. Although, in the winter it is a bit dark for me.
  • 180 SAND BEIGE – the same description as for Combination/Oily skin for this particular shade. Although, when I compare them next to each other, this one is a bit more whit that pink undertone and a hint lighter.
  • 200 NUDE – almost the same as SAND BEIGE, but less pink. More to neutral.
  • 330 NATURAL TAN – definately for medium/dark skin color. Almost the same as 320 TRUE BEIGE from Combination/Oily selection, but with less pink undertone. Like 1% less.

I checked the ingredients for both types and there is a difference. The most important ingredient which is not included in Dry/Normal foundation is Alcohol and also, there is less fragrance then in Combination/Oily foundation. There are many other ingredients that differ, but I will not dig into that so much.

Probably you saw in the pictures that these foundations has SPF 15 and as most of you know SPF provides a flashback when taking a photo with flash. In my experience, I haven’t noticed any flashback so it will be good for taking pictures.

My final thoughts: I do like this product! Although, it was hard to find my shade and hard to get the product out from the bottle in the end, it lasts on me a long time, it give a flawless finish and for me it is easy to work with. As I have other liquid foundations in light colors, I can mix and match them with Revlon Colorstay foundation and get the perfect shade.

I can’t say if it will suit you or not, because it depends on the way how you care about your skin and do you use suitable cleansing products. But as the price is not that high at all (hard to say the average price, because it is different in every website and store) so just try it out, to see if it works for you.

A tip: I would recommend to use a synthetic buffing brush or damp sponge for perfect result and would avoid the undereye area, because during the day it could emphasize some lines or wrinkles. In general, it is better to use foundation all over your face except undereye area, cause for that you will use undereye concealer or corrector or even both. Less layers, the better. It will help to prevent creasing.

I hope you liked this review and encouraged you to try it out, cause if it works on you, it will be the best money investment in foundation 😉

See you in my next post! 🙂

~ Marika

2 thoughts on “Revlon Colorstay Foundation

  1. HI, l use the sand beige for oily skin, and is one of my best foundation, l’m not the kind of person who spend a lot of money for make up and I to me this is.just perfect. L’Oreal has many amazing foundations too, both brand are not expensive and are amazing. Thanks for the review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice to hear 🙂
      but actually, I have realized that for some people it does not look as good as on me. As I am doing makeup on other girls, I have tried it and it has settled in the fine lines pretty badly..I was pretty shocked cause it does wonders to my skin. Don’t even know what to think about it now 😀

      Like

Leave a comment

