Dark Smokey Makeup Look

Only one day left till New Years Eve celebration so I wanted to put up this look in case you need an inspiration for your eye makeup. Dark smokey eyes looks nice for any occasion in the evening/night time (cause it is maybe a bit too intense for daytime πŸ˜‰ ), so I decided to share the results and also, describe how I got it, cause for me actually it was the first time doing dark smokey eyes, so I was very nervous about the result. Nervous, cause you can easily go wrong with black smokey eyes so that it doesn’t look flattering.

Dark Smokey Makeup Look

dark smokey eyes collage

Step by step how I created this makeup look:
1) I used the MAC Paint pot in the color Soft Ochre all over the lid for a base
2) If you want a very crisp and sharp edges for your eye makeup, apply tape from the outer corner of your eye, towards your brows (angle depends on you πŸ™‚ ).
3) Make sure to set the base with a skin tone color so that it locks it in place
4) I used theΒ GOSH Velvet Touch Eye Liner in Carbon Black and applied it all over the lid until the crease, BUT, making sure that there is a little gap between just applied black base and crease. Then I took small eye shadow smudging brush to make that black liner look smooth, with no harsh edges and also – smudging it until the crease. Why so? Cause that will make it easier for you to create a transition from black to brown and there won’t be a harsh black line. This eye pencil is waterproof so it won’t smudge onto the upper lid like any other creamy bases COULD do.
5) Afterwards I applied black eye shadow all over that black eye pencil, starting from the roots of my lashes and only then bringing it upwards to the crease.
6) Then you have to make sure you have time, nerves, willingness and nice colors to start the magic blending πŸ˜‰ I used a light peachy shade as my transition shade, then more towards my crease I used a very warm toned brown, which was several shades darker than the transition shade and then in the crease I went in with a dark warm toned brown.
7) Add the colors again and again once you are happy with the transition from black to light peachy tone.
8) While I had my tape on I used it as a guide to create a nice winged liner.
9) Take off the tape, apply false lashes if you want to, do the rest of your complexion and then you still have to work on the lower lashline.
10) I used the eye pencil to line my lower lashline until the middle and then smudged it out with a black eye shadow, following with that warm toned brown colors. If you have long lower lashes or you don’t like how smoked out lower lashline looks on you, you can skip this step and apply mascara already πŸ™‚

Instead of brown tones you can use any other color – grey, purple, blue etc.etc. Just make sure you have at least two shades of it – one lighter and on darker – cause it will help you to get a better transition πŸ™‚

You can add a light matte or shimmery eye shadow in the inner tear duct area to make your eyes pop and look more awake πŸ™‚ How you prefer and feel!

~Marika

6 thoughts on “Dark Smokey Makeup Look

Leave a comment

