Makeup Geek Contour Powder “Half Hearted”

Hi! You might have heard about not long ago released Makeup Geek contour powders, but if not – now you know. They have become pretty popular already, because of the idea behind it and quality. There are 8 contour shades in total – 4 with cool undertone and 4 with warm undertone and each 4 are divided as so: for porcelain, fair, medium and dark skin tone. It makes it much easier to find the best match for contouring. I ordered two shades “Bad Habit” and “Half Hearted”, but, of course, when you want to get something very bad, something has to go wrong…Turned out that “Bad Habit” was sold out when I purchased it, but system hadn’t managed to update before. But I still wanted to give a review on this one shade, just so you know – whether it’s good or not and if it’s worth the money (10 EUR).

Makeup Geek Contour Powder Half Hearted 1Makeup Geek Contour Powder Half Hearted 2Makeup Geek Contour Powder Half Hearted 4

First of all, Half Hearted is meant for medium skin tone with warm undertone. I have fair skin so of course, this is not my color, but I still tried it, to see the pigmentation and possibility to blend it out. So…my thoughts…I don’t even know how to put my thoughts together, cause I FREAKING love this product!!! When I first dipped my brush in it I was shocked how much product I was able to pick up, but when I applied it on my face it was a second round for shock. IT IS SO PIGMENTED!!! I think I dipped in twice to have perfectly contoured cheeks (very fierce and strong contour though πŸ˜€ due to color). And the texture you guys…sooooo creamy, easy to blend out, even if you took too much, you are able to blend it out. Unbelievable. I have only INGLOT HD sculpting powders to compare with and Makeup Geek contour powder totally wins it. INGLOT one is not even near in the pigmentation and creaminess. I tried to swatch the INGLOT one next to this one and I think I dipped my finger for at least 5 times in INGLOT powder to get at least half of the pigmentation Makeup Geek contour powder has. Amazed! πŸ™‚

What you have to keep in mind – it becomes a little bit chalky in the pan after you have dipped in your brush, but I don’t mind that. Even if there is a little % of product blown away it will last 2x or even more times longer than the INGLOT one. Also, as I mentioned before, this powder is suuuuuper pigmented, so be careful. Do not swirl your brush in it, cause you will end up with brown stripe on your face. When you do your Β or others makeup always keep in mind: you can always build it up until you get the desired result πŸ™‚ Below you can check the size of the pan compared to eye shadows πŸ™‚

Makeup Geek Contour Powder Half Hearted 3

AND…a little bit about choosing contour powder colors. As Marlena (founder of Makeup Geek) pointed out, it’s not right to say that for contouring you need to use only cool/grey undertone powder, cause that’s how the shadow would naturally look like on your skin. If you have warm undertone, you need warm contour shade, and if you have cool undertone, you need cool/grey toned contour shade. Cool toned contour shade on person who has warm toned skin can look ashy and dirty. I TOTALLY agree with her!!! Once I experienced such result when I did makeup on my friend. She was pretty tanned (warm undertone) and I used a grey toned contour powder, cause I thought it’s right! It looked HORRIBLE, not to say more…It simply looked unnatural and dirty. So make sure to use correct undertone powder, cause you don’t want to mess up your contour, otherwise – you have to do your makeup from the beginning.

I’m absolutely loving this product and I hope that my shade is already in stock so I could pick it up. I recommend this product to all of you πŸ™‚ It looks creamy on your face, like you would have used cream contour πŸ™‚ It looks flawless and gives the perfect contour. ❀ it

~Marika

3 thoughts on “Makeup Geek Contour Powder “Half Hearted”

    1. In the swatch picture I swirled my finger in the pan, so this is how it would look like if you would pack it on. It is dark, but not totally dark. There is one even darker shade which is meant for dark skin tones.
      These pictures I tried to take as good as I can, to get the real life color. It is basically light warm chocolate color. If you have seen how Cocoa Bear eye shadow from Makeup Geek looks like, this is close to that, but it’s not as warm. πŸ™‚ I hope I answered to your question πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

