MAC Prep and Prime Fix+

Hi friends! Finally getting back on track. As I said in my previous post, a lot has happened, but now I will move on and do my usual 2-3 posts per week πŸ™‚

Every makeup junky has heard or even used the MAC Fix +. Me too…and let me say – in the beginning I didn’t understand the hype around this product. I felt like it doesn’t do anything. But I was wrong πŸ™‚ The more I used it and researched I can finally say – I love it πŸ™‚ I have a picture below where you can read the description on the box.

MAC Fix +MAC Fix + MAC Fix +

As you could see on the bottle, this product is meant to be used as refresher and finishing spray. I agree with both statements, but I will explain how I use it, when I use it an etc.

First of all, it has a cap with a lock, so you are able to secure it. However, I just bought my second bottle and the lock system is not working good, so I had to put a cap from my old bottle to this new one. Β It sprays very fine mist that will absolutely refresh your face. I hold it about 20cm away from my face and spray in X and + way across my face so that my whole face is covered.

I use it before foundation instead of primer and/or after I am done with all my makeup. This works wonders to take off that powdery look from the face. From my experience – in filming and photoshoot operator always asks: “Please, make actors/models face matte so that it doesn’t shine!”. So, for that purpose I use powder and then I’m going over with MAC Fix + very lightly and their faces look very fresh, not powdery, but also – not shiny. Of course, don’t go overboard! πŸ™‚ Especially, if you have oily/combo skin. As one of my clients said: “It really feels refreshing! When you applied foundation and powder it felt a bit heavy (although it wasn’t), but after this mist it feels very comfortable, not dry at all and makes it all look very natural!” πŸ™‚ I agree!

If you like that highlighted, glowy skin, after using all the highlighters, go over with MAC Fix + and it will make it pop! πŸ™‚

Another way of using it – for applying loose glitter or eye shadow. There are times when I spritz my brush at first and then dip into eye shadows, and sometimes I do reverse. For example, if I want to apply loose eye shadows or sparkles, I will spritz my brush at first and then go into glitter, but if I want to make any regular eye shadow pop, I will at first swirl my brush in the shadow and then I will go over with MAC Fix + (reason for that is I simply don’t want to ruin regular eye shadows (with regular I mean those, that are not baked)). The same you can do with powder highlighter if you want to have it EXTREME πŸ™‚

And my last way of using it – to damp my sponge before applying thick foundation or when I want to make it look dewy. It will not only make your foundation application easier or make you look dewy, it will also help to lock it in place, as it’s actually a fixing spray πŸ˜‰

Andddd I think that’s it for this product! It lasts for a long time (it’s a 100ml bottle) and it costs 20EUR (in my country). I think it’s worth it and as I find my clients liking it – I will keep purchasing it πŸ™‚

P.S.-I also used it when applied makeup on boys, cause it made them look a lot more natural afterwards πŸ™‚

~Marika ❀

Leave a comment

